« View All Upcoming Grants

Deadline: July 31, 2019

Howard Hughes Medical Institute: Inclusive Excellence

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) Inclusive Excellence initiative’s third competition will help U.S. colleges and universities build their capacity to effectively engage students from all backgrounds throughout their undergraduate years, especially those students who belong to groups underrepresented in science. The initiative fosters a learning community of college and university faculty and administrators who are engaged in the process of increasing their institution’s capacity for inclusion of all students, especially students who belong to groups underrepresented in the sciences. Each school in the community commits to learning through reflection, sharing what is being learned, listening to feedback, and supporting other members of the community.

Each grantee college or university will:

  • Develop an understanding of its institutional context and define what “inclusive excellence” means to the institution
  • Identify the institutional barriers to inclusion and equity
  • Support serious efforts to engage all faculty in making meaningful contributions to the institution’s growth in capacity for inclusion
  • Build a context-specific theory of change with measurable milestones, establish meaningful methods to assess progress, and use evidence to continuously inform program design and implementation
  • Continuously reflect on how the activities supported by the grant influence institutional values, rewards systems, the campus environment, and progress toward genuine capacity building
  • Actively participate in the Inclusive Excellence learning community

Amount: A total of up to 30 grants that range up to $1,000,000 each over five years will be awarded.

Eligibility: Institutions must meet all of the following requirements:

1. Be a not-for-profit, four-year college or university in the United States in one of the following basic classification categories as identified by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching:

  • Baccalaureate Colleges – arts and sciences focus and diverse fields
  • Baccalaureate/Associate’s Colleges – mixed baccalaureate/associate’s
  • Master’s Colleges and Universities – larger, medium, and smaller programs
  • Doctoral/Research Universities – very high research activity (R1), high research activity (R2), and doctoral/professional universities (R3)
  • Tribal Colleges

2. Offer and confer four-year baccalaureate degrees in the natural sciences or offer a single baccalaureate degree that is inclusive of the natural sciences. Natural sciences typically comprise the following disciplines: astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth and geosciences, and physics, as do disciplines that are combinations of these fields, such as biochemistry, geophysics, or microbiology. Computer sciences, psychology, mathematics, and allied health-related fields are examples of disciplines that are not traditionally defined as natural sciences. However, that does not mean these other disciplines cannot be involved.

3. Be accredited and in good standing with the appropriate regional accrediting organization.

4. Not be a 2017 or 2018 HHMI Inclusive Excellence grant recipient.

Link: https://www.hhmi.org/science-education/programs/inclusive-excellence

This post was filed under:

« View All Upcoming Grants