« View All Upcoming Grants

Deadline: May 15, 2014

U.S. Department of Justice: Vision 21: Using Technology To Expand National and International Access to Victim Services

This program will provide project funding to eligible nonprofit organizations that propose to use technology creatively to interact directly with crime victims and provide information, referral, crisis assistance, and longer term help. The Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) seeks applications under the three following categories of victim service projects:

1. National-Scope Victim Service Initiatives: The projects under Category I must directly serve victims of crime and must be accessible by victims in all states and territories to address the following:

  • Sexual violence.
  • Domestic violence, including stalking associated with domestic violence.
  • Child and/or youth victimization.
  • A general purpose program that would address all crime victims.

Awards in this category must demonstrate the capacity to expand existing services to reach new victims nationwide or provide a new service or response that addresses a long standing problem.

2. National Scope Victim Service Initiatives Proposing To Serve Underserved Victims Identified by the Applicant: The projects under Category II must focus on a specific underserved population of crime victims for which sufficient need is documented.Only organizations that currently operate a victim assistance program and demonstrate the capacity to maintain or expand national outreach and services to underserved victims identified and documented by the applicant are eligible under this category. For example (please note, these examples are not exhaustive), an applicant may propose to focus on victims of identity theft/fraud, victims in Indian Country, victims of crime with disabilities, or victims who identify as LGBTQ, among other possibilities.

3. Victim Service Initiatives for American Victims of Domestic Violence and/or Sexual Assault: The projects under Category III must address victims of domestic violence (including stalking associated with domestic violence) and/or sexual assault who are U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents residing, working, traveling, or studying abroad, or traveling or working on cruise ships. Only organizations that currently operate a victim assistance program and demonstrate the capacity to maintain or expand international outreach and services in the following areas, are eligible under this category:

  • Domestic violence (including stalking associated with domestic violence) involving Americans abroad.
  • Sexual assault of Americans abroad.


  • Category 1: Up to four awards ranging from $500,000 to $750,000 each.
  • Category 2: Approximately six awards awards ranging from $150,000 to $400,000 each.

Eligibility: Nonprofit organizations with the financial and administrative capacity to manage a federal award funding either (as appropriate for the project proposed) a national scope project serving crime victims within the United States at the national level, or a project serving U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents victimized while outside of the U.S., or a combination of the two. Applicants must demonstrate a unique capability and strong desire to reach and serve victims of crime through a project that is national and/or international in scope. A private nonprofit organization does not have to have 501(c)(3) status to apply for grant funding under this solicitation.

Link: http://ojp.gov/ovc/grants/pdftxt/FY14_V21_UsingTechnology.pdf

This post was filed under:

« View All Upcoming Grants