« View All Upcoming Grants

Deadline: July 31, 2017

McCune Foundation: Lead Tier Funding

The Marshall L. and Perrine D. McCune Charitable Foundation is dedicated to enriching the health, education, environment, cultural, and spiritual life of New Mexicans. The Foundation memorializes its benefactors through proactive grantmaking that seeks to foster positive social change. The McCune Foundation focuses on the following nine priorities in its grantmaking:

  • Capacity building in the nonprofit sector
  • Economic development and family asset building
  • Education transformation and early childhood development
  • Leveraging opportunities in health care
  • Local food industry development
  • Building links between arts and community engagement
  • Stewardship of natural resources
  • Influencing urban planning and built environments
  • Strategies for rural development

Beginning in 2017, the Foundation will award grants in the through a new tiered structure:

  • Cultivate/Continuity: Provides basic support for: a) innovative, experimental, and/or pilot work that requires a relatively low level of funding to get off the ground or test an idea; or b) established organizations or programs that are aligned with Foundation priorities and are working towards increased impact.
  • Focus: Supports organizations that align with Foundation priorities and demonstrate collaboration as a core approach to their work. Applicants should specify a body of work within their overall mission that supports McCune Foundation priorities and leverage points over the grant period.
  • Lead: Supports established organizations that are proven to play a deep, supportive role to the broader ecosystem of groups working to build resilience and prosperity in New Mexican communities. Lead grant recipients provide critical support (programmatic, administrative, or other) to numerous other organizations in alignment with Foundation priorities and values.

Amount: Lead tier grants will range from $50,000-$100,000; approximately 1-5 grants will be awarded in 2018.

Eligibility: Nonprofit organizations with 501(c)(3) status, federally recognized Indian tribes, public schools, and governmental agencies.

Link: http://nmmccune.org/

Note: The July 31, 2017 deadline is for required letters of interest for applicants applying within the Lead tier. Invited applications for this tier will be due on September 15, 2017. The lead tier is the only tier that requires a letter of interest (Cultivate/Continuity and Focus tiers have a single deadline on September 15, 2017).

This post was filed under:

« View All Upcoming Grants