« View All Upcoming Grants

Deadline: July 20, 2018

U.S. Department of Homeland Security: Tribal Homeland Security Grant Program

The Tribal Homeland Security Grant Program (THSGP) provides funding directly to eligible tribes to support the building, sustainment, and delivery of core capabilities to enable tribes to strengthen their capacity to prevent, protect against, mitigate, respond to, and recover from potential terrorist attacks. Performance metrics for this program are as follows:

  • Percentage of funding building new capabilities
  • Percentage of funding sustaining existing capabilities

Priorities: The Department of Homeland Security (DHS)/Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) publishes the annual National Preparedness Report to communicate progress in building, sustaining, and delivering the core capabilities. This analysis provides a national perspective on critical preparedness trends for whole community partners to use and to inform program priorities, allocate resources, and communicate with stakeholders about issues of shared concern. The National Preparedness Report (NPR) can be found at http://www.fema.gov/national-preparedness-report. The 2017 NPR identified the following subset of core capabilities as national areas for improvement:

  • Cybersecurity
  • Infrastructure Systems
  • Economic Recovery
  • Housing
  • Supply Chain Integrity and Security
  • Natural and Cultural Resources
  • Risk Management for Protection Programs and Activities

THSGP applicants should consider funding projects that address core capability gaps within the NPR national areas for improvement to the extent that they relate to terrorism preparedness.

DHS/FEMA requires recipients to complete a Threat and Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (THIRA) and Stakeholder Preparedness Review (SPR) and prioritize grant funding to support closing capability gaps or sustaining capabilities identified in this process.

Amount: A total of $10,000,000 is available to make up to 25 awards. The project period is for 36 months.

Eligibility: Federally recognized Indian tribes that meet the following criteria:

A) Any Indian tribe:

(i) That is located in the continental United States;
(ii) That operates a law enforcement or emergency response agency with the capacity to respond to calls for law enforcement or emergency services
(iii) a) That is located on or near (50 miles) an international border or a coastline bordering an ocean (including the Gulf of Mexico) or international waters; b) that is located within 10 miles of a system or asset included on the prioritized critical infrastructure list established under section 210E(a)(2) [of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, as amended] or has such a system or asset within its territory; c) that is located within or contiguous to one of the 50 most populous metropolitan statistical areas in the United States; or d) the jurisdiction of which includes not less than 1,000 square miles of Indian country, as that term is defined in section 1151 of title 18, United States Code
(iv) That certifies to the Secretary [of Homeland Security] tha t a State has not provided funds under section 2003 [UASI] or 2004 [SHSP] of [the Homeland Security Act of 2002, as amended] to the Indian Tribe or consortium of Indian Tribes for the purpose for which direct funding is sought

(B) A consortium of Indian tribes, if each tribe satisfies the requirements of subparagraph (A).

In summary, directly eligible tribes must meet the requirements set forth in (A)(i), (A)(ii), and (A)(iv). Tribes must also meet one of the requirements set forth in (A)(iii): either (A)(iii)(a), (A)(iii)(b), (A)(iii)(c), or (A)(iii)(d). Finally, under subparagraph (B), a consortium may also be eligible to be a recipient if each Indian Tribe in the consortium meets the criteria for a directly eligible Tribe under subparagraph (A).

Link: https://www.grants.gov/web/grants/view-opportunity.html?oppId=305474

This post was filed under:

« View All Upcoming Grants