« View All Upcoming Grants

Deadline: January 17, 2018

U.S. Department of the Interior: Technical Assistance to Tribes

The Bureau of Reclamation (Reclamation), through the Native American Affairs Technical Assistance to Tribes Program (Technical Assistance Program [TAP]), provides technical assistance to Indian tribes and tribal organizations. The TAP is intended to establish cooperative working relationships, through partnerships with Indian tribes and tribal organizations, to ensure that tribes have the opportunity to participate fully in the Reclamation Program as they develop, manage, and protect their water and related resources. Reclamation’s Native American and International Affairs Office plans to make fiscal year (FY) 2018 funds available for the TAP through Reclamation’s five Regional Offices (see below).

Eligible projects include, but are not limited to:

  • Water needs assessments
  • Water management studies
  • Water quality data collection and assessments
  • Water measurement studies
  • Training for tribal staff and managers in areas of water resources’ development, management and protection
  • Minor rehabilitation or replacement of existing tribally owned, water-related structures and facilities
  • Minor construction projects such as: restoring wetlands; controlling erosion; stabilizing streambanks; installing gardens; drilling domestic and stock wells; constructing ponds; and developing water basin plans

Amount: It is anticipated that $1,000,000 will be available in FY 2018 and each Region may have up to four awards for technical assistance, depending on the total amount of funding requested by successful applicants. Reclamation anticipates that available funding will be divided equally among the five regions, unless demand for funding is significantly higher or lower between the regions. The Federal funding amount per award agreement is estimated to not exceed $200,000 total over two years.

Eligibility: A federally recognized Indian tribe or tribal organization, as defined in 25 U.S.C. 450b that are located in the 17 Western States identified in the Reclamation Act of June 17, 1902, as amended; specifically: Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The five regions include: Pacific Northwest Region; Mid-Pacific Region; Lower Colorado Region; Upper Colorado Region; and the Great Plains Region. Parts of New Mexico are located in both the Lower Colorado and Upper Colorado Regions. See: https://www.usbr.gov/native/regions/.

Link: https://www.grants.gov/web/grants/view-opportunity.html?oppId=297999

This post was filed under:

« View All Upcoming Grants